Newborn baseball hat

Image

My sister-in-law is having a little boy coming up and I wanted to try knitting something special.  This was a very fast knit, I feel like the embroidery part was a little tedious, but it might get better with more practice.  For this hat I used size 6 needles and cast on 60, I purled the first round and then did stockinette stitch for 27 rounds and began my decrease witch was:

Round 29:*knit 4, k2tog* repeat to end

Round 30- knit

Round 31- *knit 3, k2tog* repeat to end

Round 32- knit

Round 33- *knit 2, k2tog* repeat to end

Round 34- knit

Round 35- *knit 1, k2tog* repeat to end

Round 36- *k2tog* repeat to end

cut yarn and weave through remaining stitches, weave in all loose ends.

Get your red yarn and cut a long piece embroider in the baseball stitching.  I found the best way to do this is go up through (center of your baseball stitch) go a little ways up and over then take the needle down.  Bring the needle back up through the center and over the other direction forming the “v” baseball stitch.  Keep going judging on  where to start curving it around the hat.  It gets easier with practice.  I had to rip mine out a few times before I was happy with it.

Happy Knitting!

8 thoughts on “Newborn baseball hat

  1. Yes sorry if this was confusing, I did this on the magic loop, but really it can be done in any method. On the decrease round you repeat knit 4, knit 2tog all the way to the end, after this row you will now have 50 stitches. This is the basic hat decrease. Hope this helps!

  2. I am always looking for quick, inexpensive knits for our Relay for Life event. Our team was created through my co-captain’s and my love of knitting and we have had scarves etc. I like to find fun things that will knock the socks off my co-captain. I did a baby rasta hat (donated to a library raffle and my Relay co-captain bought a ticket and won.) This might be something a little unusual that someone will make a donation. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

